LCDInfo.com
http://forum.lcdinfo.com/

PCD8544 (Nokia LCD)
http://forum.lcdinfo.com/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=474
Page 12 of 12

Author:  newbe [ Thu Aug 17, 2006 3:46 ]
Post subject:  driver chip for 3410

Hello bingo600,

I came to the same conclusion as you. And the datasheet will be found easily on the philips semiconductors home: http://www.semiconductors.philips.com/acrobat_download/datasheets/PCF8814_1.pdf
...if you haven't already found it.
good luck by driving it... (I hate this initiation bytes...)

greez newbe

Author:  Anonymous [ Sun Dec 03, 2006 12:39 ]
Post subject: 

Hello,

It's my first post on this forum :)

First of all i would like to thank Henri for creating the driver for the 3310 display and wish him to continue this ungrateful job :)

However i would like to ask to add a little feature to the driver:

I'm using a much more simple connection schematic from rifer:
http://rifer.ucoz.ru/publ/1-1-0-17

There are 2 LPT pins used for alimentating LCD display, and also Pin 1 of lpt is used, and those options are not available in the driver's dialog. (No need to transform 5V to 3.3V)

Would Henri be so kind to make such adaptation?

Greets

Author:  Rafeiro [ Fri Feb 02, 2007 19:25 ]
Post subject: 

Hi...

I have a lcd of nokia 3310 but i cannot make it work...!

What's wrong? (I have follow the scheme that i'm find here)

Author:  Foxie Vis [ Fri Mar 21, 2008 18:14 ]
Post subject:  Possible replacements

Hi,

I'm trying to make the supplied schematic for the 3310 LCD on a piece of testboard (not sure how to call it, it's not breadboard, you have to solder your components). I am having trouble however locating the two IC's.

The only nearby electronics stores list of available IC's can be seen here.
As a replacement for the transceiver I just searched the document for "trans" and looked up all the datasheets for the ic's that said transceiver. The only chip that possibly looked like it was somewhat of a match is SN74LS245. Datasheet can be found on
this link. I don't think it would work though, I just don't know enough about electronics yet to be sure or find out how to wire it without help.

I'm not sure what to do next, I could order the two IC's through Farnell but it's a bit strange to order a shipment for just two IC's. I called the shop but they're not really helpfull ("Look, I can't know all the ic's in my shop, can I?"-SIC).

Any help/hints/shouts would be greatly appreciated.

thankx.[/url]

Author:  rickon [ Sun Mar 23, 2008 16:29 ]
Post subject:  Can´t make it work..... anybody please?

I am trying to make my 3310 Display to work... but every piece of code I try is in vain...

Here´s what I am trying:

Code:
#include <MC68HC908QT2.h>
#pragma DATA_SEG SHORT ZEROPAGE
#include "prototypes.h"

void main(void) {

   lcd_init();

   spi(0x1F,1);
   spi(0x05,1);
   spi(0x07,1);
   spi(0x00,1);
   spi(0x1F,1);
   spi(0x04,1);
   spi(0x1F,1);
   
   spi(0x0D,0);
   spi(0x80,0);
   spi(0x00,1);



   for(;;) {

   };
}

void lcd_init(void) {
    unsigned char tmp;
   
    RES_1;
 
    RES_0;
 
    for (tmp=0;tmp<255;tmp++);
 
    RES_1;
   
   
    //extended instruction set 0010.0001b
    spi(0x21,0);
 
    spi(0x80|20,0);  //set Vop;Vop is set to a +16xb[V]
   
   
    //switch to normal instruction set
    spi(0x20,0);
   
    //display control set (normal mode)
    spi(0x0c,0);
   
    //switch to data-mode
    //DC_1;
}

void spi(unsigned char dat, unsigned char tipo)
{
 unsigned char i;
 
 SCE_1;
 DelayMs(1);
 SCE_0;
 
 if (tipo==0) DC_0;else DC_1;

 SCK_0;                           
                         
   for (i = 0; i < 8; i ++)          // followed by the 8 bits of data
      {
       SCK_0;                     
       if((dat << i) & 0x80)
        SDI_1;                 
    else
        SDI_0;                   

      SCK_1;                     
      }
 SCK_0;
 
 
 SCE_1;                           
}


The code is an old Freescale´s HC908QT2. It runs on 4MHz.

I have a 7805 regulator connected to a Zener 3.3V which feeds the whole circuit, even the processor.


I am using 2 capacitors. 1 for the Display Vout (2.2uF) to the ground and another (1uF) from Display Vcc to ground.

Any ideas?

Thank you![/code]

Author:  _Lone_Wolf_ [ Thu Jul 17, 2008 17:52 ]
Post subject: 

henri you did the first driver right?
can you adjust it for 3410 lcd? i have the datasheet but i dont know what to adjust :S

Author:  _Lone_Wolf_ [ Fri Jul 18, 2008 22:10 ]
Post subject: 

well decided to insist, and think i found the problem for the 3410 lcd, if anyone has it tay something and i will post the modified driver(still works for 3310)

Author:  Henri [ Thu Jul 31, 2008 14:38 ]
Post subject: 

_Lone_Wolf_ wrote:
henri you did the first driver right?
can you adjust it for 3410 lcd? i have the datasheet but i dont know what to adjust :S

It has been quite a while since I worked with these displays but if I'm not mistaken some support for the 3410 lcd was already included ? There were some options in the driver configuration dialog. If this 3410 lcd is the one that supports similar commands but is just larger resolution.

Author:  blagah [ Mon Mar 15, 2010 22:50 ]
Post subject: 

I know it has been a while since this thread has been touched but, I am wondering if anyone has tried this with a display from a nokia 2285 I have not seen anyone mention it before, but is almost identical to the 3310 its has 8 pins and a resolution of 96x65 i have it wired according to this diagram http://serdisplib.sourceforge.net/ser/pcd8544.html. when i run lcdinfo im using the driver for the (pcd8544 nokia lcd) and all i get is a criss-cross of black lines. Is this due to it being a different display, or is it a possible wiring mistake?
Image
If pics of the actual wiring will help i can get those up as well.

Page 12 of 12 All times are UTC + 2 hours
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/