LCDInfo.com

http://www.lcdinfo.com
It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 0:00

All times are UTC + 2 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: SED1520
PostPosted: Wed May 05, 2004 17:14 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 05, 2002 22:05
Posts: 2063
Location: Lappeenranta, Finland
Today jsc69 sent me this driver he has made for SED1520. Thanks :D

http://www.skippari.net/lcd/alpha/sed1520_driver.zip

I can't test it myself as I don't have SED1520 display but if you test it please post your results here.


Last edited by Henri on Wed Sep 22, 2004 11:28, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 06, 2004 10:04 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2004 10:02
Posts: 16
Dear sed1520 users ;),

i was asked by Henri to give you some additional infos. Afaik all lcds using the sed1520 controller are graphical displays with a resolution of 122x32 pixels. They don't have a special textmode.
The default settings of the driver are for the wiring below. Other wirings should be possible by changing the settings in the configuration dialog, but i couldn't test that. If you want to use an other wiring it is importent the the R/W pin is conected to ground, because the driver won't control this pin.
Insteed it could control the backlight. Ehm :roll: , the backlight didn't work in the wiring below. Somebody told me i have to add a resistor between pin LED_C and the BS170. Shame on me, i didn't found the time to do that. Any other suggestions will be welcome.
If you are confused of the pin names, ask or have a look in the manual of the lcd i'm using: http://www.lcd-module.de/eng/pdf/grafik/dip122-5e.pdf

schematic of wiring


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 07, 2004 18:48 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 05, 2002 22:05
Posts: 2063
Location: Lappeenranta, Finland
Thanks, some background information is always good :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 08, 2004 3:03 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 7:03
Posts: 201
Location: Sydney, Australia
jsc69,

I have a differant type of SED1520 module, A Nan-Ya one.

http://www.mark-products.com/pdf/g122x32/84_042/84_042%20spec.pdf to be precise.

Which I have sort of got going, however it has a line down the centre of the screen 2 pixels wide, Everything else runs, however I just can't seem to get rid of this line.

Any idea's? Did you have any similar problems when you did your display?

_________________
Syridian,
http://syridian.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 08, 2004 12:24 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2004 10:02
Posts: 16
hi,

do you mean, that you have two blank horizontal lines in the middle?
Could you send a picture?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2004 0:21 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 7:03
Posts: 201
Location: Sydney, Australia
jsc69,

I don't have anywhere to host a picture at the moment, PM me your email addy, and I'll email you one. :)

Basically it's a single verticle line 2 pixels wide right down the centre of the screen. I think it's actually on the side of the first controller, as it looks very slightly off centre.

I'm thinking at the moment that I might have damaged the controller, with some earlier experimenting, so I'll wire up a new display later today and test that theory first.

_________________
Syridian,
http://syridian.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2004 5:06 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 7:03
Posts: 201
Location: Sydney, Australia
jsc69,

OK... It's official, I didn't damage it, as a new one does exactly the same thing. I have a photo of what it does.

Image [Edit 13-01-05: Added picture]

It from x pixel 59 and 60, and repeats on every y co-ordinate, although the pixel at x=59 y=7 seems to ok, but occasionally isn't... Also the area at x=0 y=8 down to x=0 y=15 also seems corupted, as if it's getting data from end of the text line.

Anyway... Not asking for an immediate fix, just asking if you had seen the problem before.

_________________
Syridian,
http://syridian.com


Last edited by Syridian on Thu Jan 13, 2005 4:45, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 10, 2004 1:09 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2004 10:02
Posts: 16
Syridian wrote:
Anyway... Not asking for an immediate fix, just asking if you had seen the problem before.

Nop...
but there are so many lcds with sed1520 controllers in this world, that i did not start wondering ;)

Will send you a PM


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 06, 2005 5:53 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2004 19:42
Posts: 30
schematic for wiring is a TXT file, seems to be damaged...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 06, 2005 5:58 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2004 19:42
Posts: 30
sorry found it here..
http://www.majer.ch/lcd/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 06, 2005 11:19 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2004 17:42
Posts: 467
Location: The Netherlands
Carlo75 wrote:
schematic for wiring is a TXT file, seems to be damaged...


Carlo, that file is not damaged; it has a .txt extension; save the file and rename the .txt extension to .png

Interesting link that other scheme, it has some extra glue logic to make it work, perhaps that's the solution to Syridian's SED1520 issues?

_________________
My Plexeon-Insane LCD!-Or this one!-LCDinfo-LCDStudio


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2005 8:00 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 7:03
Posts: 201
Location: Sydney, Australia
Coorz,

Thats basically how I have mine connected anyway... Although for testing purposes I used an external ocsillator.

JSC69 currently has one of my Nan-Ya displays and is having a look at it.... I hope. ;)

_________________
Syridian,
http://syridian.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 08, 2005 12:32 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2004 10:02
Posts: 16
Syridian wrote:
JSC69 currently has one of my Nan-Ya displays and is having a look at it.... I hope. ;)
Surely ;)
For you information: There are (at least) two different types of SED1520 displays. Some with a build-in clock signal (like mine) and some which needs an external clcok signal. LCDInfo only supports displays with build-in clock.
But i'm working on it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 08, 2005 13:31 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 7:03
Posts: 201
Location: Sydney, Australia
So the problems I was seeing were cause by signals not sync-ing with my external clock? I thought it was strange that I got most of the display working but there was a little issue with only part of it.

Are you trying to replicate the clock signal as an output on the LPT port through the driver? :D

Thanks for looking at this BTW. :) I hope that display was enough to get you excited at looking at the issue. ;)

_________________
Syridian,
http://syridian.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 08, 2005 16:00 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2004 10:02
Posts: 16
Syridian wrote:
So the problems I was seeing were cause by signals not sync-ing with my external clock?
No, that's not all :? The "behaviour" is also different.

Syridian wrote:
Are you trying to replicate the clock signal as an output on the LPT port through the driver? :D
No. That wasn't my intention. First i want to make it run ;). To create the clock signal by driver sounds interesting, but i thing it difficult to realize. But i will kept it in mind.

Syridian wrote:
Thanks for looking at this BTW. :) I hope that display was enough to get you excited at looking at the issue. ;)
Thanks for the display ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC + 2 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group