LCDInfo.com

http://www.lcdinfo.com
It is currently Mon Dec 17, 2018 1:00

All times are UTC + 2 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 25, 2004 9:29 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2003 12:03
Posts: 107
Location: South Africa
Hi,

finally posted a update... all I changed is I set E2 to use line 17 and not line 14! Hope this works... Please send me a update if it works or not! What size is your display (2x20, 4x40, 4x80)? Make sure that this is selectd in the setup

http://www16.brinkster.com/rudigrobler/hd44780_driver.zip

_________________
Rudi Grobler


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 25, 2004 14:02 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 22:34
Posts: 21
i'll try it out later today - display size is a measly 2x16


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2004 19:55 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 22:34
Posts: 21
after extracting the driver and overwriting the old driver

when i run lcdinfo test version:
Image

and then:
Image


any ideas?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2004 8:38 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2003 12:03
Posts: 107
Location: South Africa
A quick search on google:

Quote:
DLL File: msvcrtd or msvcrtd.dll
DLL Name: Microsoft (R) C Runtime Library
Description: File that contains functions that are needed for the debug version of an application.
Part Of: Visual C++
System DLL: No
Common Errors: File Not Found, Missing File, Exception Errors


I think I compiled the debug in stead of the release version! Will fix now and updated the previous link!!!

_________________
Rudi Grobler


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2004 8:45 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2003 12:03
Posts: 107
Location: South Africa
Hi,

My web server seems to be down today so I mailed the update to henri, and asked if he will post it... Mail me and I can send it to you!

_________________
Rudi Grobler


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2004 22:17 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 05, 2002 22:05
Posts: 2063
Location: Lappeenranta, Finland
File here: http://www.skippari.net/lcd/alpha/hd44780_driver.zip


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2004 8:25 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2003 12:03
Posts: 107
Location: South Africa
Thank you henri,

Please post here if it works or not? I just changed the wiring not to conflic E2 and RW lines

_________________
Rudi Grobler


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2004 21:37 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 22:34
Posts: 21
the same error pops up, choosing a 2x16 character display and 4-bit mode produces strings of a few weird characters that dance around. choosing 8-bit mode produces nothing on the screen, but when I quit the program, the screen says "Good Bye!"(only on 8-bit mode).

any ideas?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 31, 2004 15:04 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2003 12:03
Posts: 107
Location: South Africa
That errors is definitly because it is build for debug and not release... I will post the code to henri and ask him to try?

_________________
Rudi Grobler


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 31, 2004 15:12 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2003 12:03
Posts: 107
Location: South Africa
That errors is definitly because it is build for debug and not release... I will post the code to henri and ask him to try?

_________________
Rudi Grobler


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 01, 2004 0:14 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 05, 2002 22:05
Posts: 2063
Location: Lappeenranta, Finland
"Good bye!" at exit is very encouraging as it's exactly what you should get. Hmm, so was this with the newest driver ? Did you get it running without the error dialog ?
I got the code from Rudi and I'm planning to check it tomorrow.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 01, 2004 6:58 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 22:34
Posts: 21
"Good bye" only appeared in 8-bit mode, which just showed a blank screen otherwise. 4-bit mode showed string of a few weird characters. i can take pics if you think it would help.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 03, 2004 20:39 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 05, 2002 22:05
Posts: 2063
Location: Lappeenranta, Finland
Finally tested the code rudi sent me. It didn't work with the 20x2 display I tested with which didn't have RW grounded. I modified the driver so that it always drives RW (lpt pin 14) to low and now it is working with my display in 8bit mode.

http://www.skippari.net/lcd/alpha/hd44780_driver.dll

Let us know how it works.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 04, 2004 4:43 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 22:34
Posts: 21
no error message anymore: same symptoms as before though. 8 bit mode has nothing but upon exit has a "Good Bye!". Standard 4 bit mode has 2 bizarre characters that alternate (i can get my roommate to take a digital pic if you want). 4 bit mode is blank all the time.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 09, 2004 15:00 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 05, 2002 22:05
Posts: 2063
Location: Lappeenranta, Finland
This might be something about the timing then. In fact at the exit it's working perfectly like it should when it prints the "Good Bye!" text. Unfortunately for some reason it isn't that happy during normal use.

Timing change in the driver might fix it so it's worth trying. Driver with modified timing will be coming...


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC + 2 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group