LCDInfo.com

http://www.lcdinfo.com
It is currently Sat Jul 29, 2017 13:53

All times are UTC + 2 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: German umlauts
PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2005 22:01 
Offline

Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 17:16
Posts: 7
Hello Henri,

I will try to write a plugin for the nebula DigiTV Software (http://www.nebula-electronics.com/)

Now I have the problem that the German umlauts (äöüÄÖÜß) not shown on my Display.

Any Idee why ?, and how i can fix it ?

mfg Tek


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:27 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 7:03
Posts: 201
Location: Sydney, Australia
Are these characters actually in the Character ROM?

_________________
Syridian,
http://syridian.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 14, 2005 23:28 
Offline

Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 17:16
Posts: 7
Sorry im a beginner in programming the lcd and c++. Can you please explain what you mean ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 14, 2005 23:56 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 7:03
Posts: 201
Location: Sydney, Australia
LCD's that have a text mode, that is the ability to send ascii text data to, have a built in character ROM, or memory storing the LCD font as it were. If your LCD doesn't have the umlauts in the character ROM, then you won't be able to display them other than through graphical representation of them.

Or.. you could get technical, and re-write the drivers so that they can write to the custom character space. ;) But thats beyond both of us for now. :)

So.. Basically, find out what is in your character ROM, see if it has these characters first. To do that, you need the full datasheet for the controller on your LCD. Or, find out what controller you have and repost in here, and maybe I can find the time to go through it for you, but it might actually be quicker for you to do it yourself. And, you'll learn much more doing it that way. ;)

_________________
Syridian,
http://syridian.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 15, 2005 20:10 
Offline

Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 17:16
Posts: 7
Hi Syridian,

Thanks for the Help, i have look at the Side where i buy the lcd, but can´t find infos for the Character ROM.

http://www.rebach-online.de/shop/product_info.php?cPath=63_64&products_id=5015081

Please can you Help with the Infomations on the side.

mfg Tek


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 16, 2005 0:12 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 05, 2002 22:05
Posts: 2063
Location: Lappeenranta, Finland
The problem here is that usually even if the character generator rom would include these characters they are not in the same place in the table as in ascii. And as LCDInfo (or better would be to say the drivers as the character mapping is display dependent) doesn't yet do this kind translation / mapping they are not shown correctly. I need to work on this.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 20, 2005 23:09 
Offline

Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 17:16
Posts: 7
THX for the answer, than i will wait for the fix :wink:


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 2 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group