LCDInfo.com

http://www.lcdinfo.com
It is currently Sat Nov 18, 2017 4:41

All times are UTC + 2 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: USB480 as 2ndary Monitor
PostPosted: Tue Mar 31, 2009 20:00 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 19:54
Posts: 4
I'm new around here so please be gentle. I just have a quick question, and if someone could please answer it, well it will make me one happy school girl.

I recently got a USB480 board along with a screen. I would like to use it as a tiny 2ndary screen under Windows XP. Any ideas on how to go about doing so? Thank you!color


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 31, 2009 21:14 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 05, 2002 22:05
Posts: 2063
Location: Lappeenranta, Finland
The test driver for the secondary screen functionality was just emailed so it should arrive soon.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Awesome
PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2009 3:47 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 19:54
Posts: 4
Thanks Henri! I just read through my email and downloaded it. I've followed the steps, but I still can't get anything to display on it. I tried reinstalling, running the app before activating my extended desktop and after activating. I'm at a lost.

Sometimes I feel like I'm getting too old for this :( Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks again.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Problem Solved
PostPosted: Thu Apr 02, 2009 4:30 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 19:54
Posts: 4
Thanks for the fast response Henri. I figured out what was wrong. It appears the clip isn't holding the ribbon cable tight enough. Out of the blues I decided to push down on the clip, and voila, I saw stuff on it. Looks very nice and crisp.

Now what I would like to do is have it so it displays whatever resolution and scale it to fit the screen. Is the code for that test app open source? I would love to have a peek at it.

Thank you again for all your help!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Problem Solved
PostPosted: Fri Apr 03, 2009 17:27 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 05, 2002 22:05
Posts: 2063
Location: Lappeenranta, Finland
Maverick wrote:
Thanks for the fast response Henri. I figured out what was wrong. It appears the clip isn't holding the ribbon cable tight enough. Out of the blues I decided to push down on the clip, and voila, I saw stuff on it. Looks very nice and crisp.

Good to hear you have it working now. Maybe the display cable wasn't properly placed in the connector for some reason. Is it working fine now or is there still intermittent connection?

Maverick wrote:
Now what I would like to do is have it so it displays whatever resolution and scale it to fit the screen. Is the code for that test app open source? I would love to have a peek at it.

I guess that should be possible. Let me have a look into it and package it for you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Sweet
PostPosted: Fri Apr 03, 2009 23:40 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 19:54
Posts: 4
It is working just fine now Henri! There may have bee something stuck in between the cable and the pins because after cleaning it a bit, it just works now. The design in these boards are quite remarkable too!

I'll be digging through that code like theres no tomorrow =)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 04, 2009 21:35 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2009 22:22
Posts: 1
8O Cool! I wouldn't mind a copy of that software myself :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2009 22:18 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2008 16:46
Posts: 6
Location: Lpr, Fin
Related to the desktop driver. I wanted to rotate the view 180 degrees, but I can't get tools meant to do that quickly to work with the display/driver. Henri, any ideas what could be the cause of it?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 23, 2009 9:56 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 05, 2002 22:05
Posts: 2063
Location: Lappeenranta, Finland
TeroD wrote:
Related to the desktop driver. I wanted to rotate the view 180 degrees, but I can't get tools meant to do that quickly to work with the display/driver. Henri, any ideas what could be the cause of it?

The current implementation doesn't really consider rotation at all. With some luck the required changes for this might not take too much work. Which tool were you trying to do the rotation?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 23, 2009 16:00 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2008 16:46
Posts: 6
Location: Lpr, Fin
Actually I don't need this to work after all. But it could be useful in the future, for me or someone else.

I only used a tool called irotate. Might work with some other tool though, that's actually worth looking into before doing anything else.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2011 9:50 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2011 9:39
Posts: 1
Can I please get a copy of this driver for secondary display?
Thanks.
Alex.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 2 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group