LCDInfo.com

http://www.lcdinfo.com
It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 7:28

All times are UTC + 2 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu May 05, 2005 16:58 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 05, 2005 16:24
Posts: 5
Hi everyone, great work to all those that break their backs on the LCDInfo - looks great (just need to sort out this display and I can really use it).

Can anyone offer some guidance on the pinouts I have here (photo's later when I get my hands on the camera). It has a T6963C controller and four Toshiba T6A39 chips (what are they for i wonder?), I have a HORRIBLE feeling it is backlit with a CCFL Tube*

    pin Symb Comment
    1. FG (Ground) OK know what to do with this
    2. VSS (Ground)
    3. VDD (5.0v Supply)
    4. V0 ? Is this where I supply the negative voltage to drive the LCD?
    5. /WR (Write) Ok know what to do with this
    6. /RD (Read) Ok know what to do with this
    7. /CE (Chip Enable) Ok know what to do with this
    8. C/D (Inst/Data) Ok know what to do with this
    9. NC
    10. RST (Reset) I want to connect this to a momentary pushbutton not sure how though? Any help? I've seen a schematic showing resistor & cap is this capacitor & resistor necessary?
    11 to 18 inc. DB (Databus 0-7) OK know what to do with these
    19. FS (Font Select) Can I use jumpers to pull up or down (If so will I need pull up/down resistor so we don't sink/source too much?) Is this software selectable and if so which pin is the signal on?
    20. VOUT ? Is this where I can get the negative voltage to drive the lcd :oops:
    21. SLA (B/Light Anode) I'm a bit stuck here
    22. SLK (B/Light Kathode) and here - if it IS CCFL then where does the voltage come from (on board?) or by seperate module?
Then the confusion really kicks in we now have some more pins.

    pin Symb Comment
    23. ED ?
    24. CDATA ?
    25. FR ?
    26. LP ?
    27. HSCP ?
    28. NC
    29. VDD appears to track to pin 3
    30. VSS appears to track to pin 2
    31. V0 appears to track to pin 4
    32. VOUT appears to track to pin 20
    33. SLA appears to track to pin 21
    34. SLK appears to track to pin 22


*BTW This Lcd looks like it has a neg generator on board?

I have found a link to the pdf datasheet but the file doesn't exist :( google has an html cache of it though at this address: http://www.google.com/search?q=cache:BznvGnJoSIAJ:www.szcm-lcd.com/tu_xing/CM240128-6.pdf+cm240128-6&hl=en

The PDF would have been really handy and I've emailed the company with a request but nothing yet :cry:

Please can anyone help me with this? I will offer any knowledge I may have in return - ok I know it's a bad deal but hey I can't give what I ain't got :lol:

Thanks in advance (Figners crossed)
Dolomon[url][/url]

_________________
Sniff... what's that smell... kinda like burnt ozone... DOH!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 05, 2005 23:25 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2004 16:01
Posts: 218
Location: NH, USA
It will be really helpful to see a pic of the back of the board. Your backlight is LED.

21. SLA (B/Light Anode) This is the positive side of the b/l. Usually driven with 5vdc, but you could play it safe and put a resistor in series with this pin (>100 ohms should do you fine) to check it.

22. SLK (B/Light Kathode) This is the ground side


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 06, 2005 0:18 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 05, 2002 22:05
Posts: 2063
Location: Lappeenranta, Finland
Looks like you have mostly the same pin names as here: http://www.skippari.net/lcd/t6963c_schem.html
Just follow the pin names and modify the pin numbers to your lcd.
You might also find this schematic helpful: http://liquid-mp3.schijf.org/schematics ... -24128.gif

Except that your lcd seems to output the negative voltage from pin 20 (VOUT).
So you connect the VOUT and +5v to end of a potentiometer and then the middle pin of potentiometer to V0 (pin 4).

You can just ignore the pins from 23 to 34. The appear to be for external controller but as yours has the T6963C you shouldn't connect anything here as the on board T6963C should be connected to these already.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 06, 2005 8:05 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 05, 2005 16:24
Posts: 5
Hi,

Thanks for the replies guys - I got brave with the backlight after posting yesterday I breadboarded a small variable supply with a pot and fixed resistor - set it half way and we got light so it is LED?

The schematics are the ones I have looked at many times hoping that they are the answer - thanks again!

few more quick questions...
1. The first one shows the reset pulled high permanently? The second shows the pushbutton (which I hoped to use) along with the resistor capacitor - I take it that when the contacts make the RST is pulled low thus forcing a reset? Are the capacitor and resistor just to protect against nasties?

2. The FS (Font select) - can this be jumpered so I can play with both scales? Is there software support for this pin to be sent high or low ?

Once again thanks guys you really are good people!... Henri - once I get this working may I join the Plugin gang I use Visual C++ .NET not quite a guru but I'd like to help if I can? :D

_________________
Sniff... what's that smell... kinda like burnt ozone... DOH!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 06, 2005 8:51 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 05, 2005 16:24
Posts: 5
Just another quick one :D

If I want to check this Vout thing - can I wire up just the power supply except V0 and Vout and then use a multimeter between Vout and ground to check that there is the correct negative voltage at Vout (without applying it to V0) - I know there will be no display etc but I just want to see what voltages are available at Vout.

So I will only connect these pins

1. FG (Ground)
2. VSS (Ground)
3. VDD (5.0v Supply)

This should supply the negative voltage generator with it's reference voltage etc? So all the power section should be running?

Does this sound ok.

Thanks again!

_________________
Sniff... what's that smell... kinda like burnt ozone... DOH!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 06, 2005 9:55 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 05, 2002 22:05
Posts: 2063
Location: Lappeenranta, Finland
The RC combination in reset pin is meant to give it a power on reset pulse when power is applied. The capacitor slowly charges through the resistor keeping the module in reset for a little while.
EDIT:
For the above explanation I was thinking of the circuit without the reset switch so that's why I was talking about power on reset only. The same thing happens when the reset switch is in the circuit but now if you push the reset switch you short the capacitor to ground and puts the controller in reset and when the button comes up the capacitor starts charging again and gives the small delay until the reset pin is at high level again and the controller comes out of reset. So reset switch just allows you to reset it when you want.

You need to have the FS set to same setting as in software. So if you set the FS to 8 pixel wide setting then the software has to be set to 8 pixel font too. And same for 6 pixel. If this hardware setting doesn't match the software settings you get some interesting results. I don't know of software that would support changing the hardware font setting through parallel port pin or something though.
But yes you if you make some arrangements so that you can change the pin between high and low with a switch you can make some experiments. LCDInfo supports both 6 and 8 pixel wide characters.

Yes you can test the negative voltage output by just connecting the
2. VSS (Ground)
3. VDD (5.0v Supply)
and then checking the output from Vout.

Sure you can program plugins for LCDInfo :) The information and files needed are in the Developers forum but if you run into some troubles or don't understand something just ask.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2005 13:19 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 05, 2005 16:24
Posts: 5
It is WORKING!

A REALLY BIG THANKYOU TO Henri and one~zero!

Have some iffy pictures of it in action but nowhere to host them so you'll have to take my word for it!

Now all I have to do is make some screens for 240 x 128 and I'm away.

Thanks again :D :D :D

_________________
Sniff... what's that smell... kinda like burnt ozone... DOH!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 27, 2005 1:44 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 1:40
Posts: 3
Location: Argentina
Hi every one ...

Sorry for my poor english ... 8O

Dolomon, can you post or e-mail me your final connection to the LPT ??

I have the same display, and I don't no how to connect some pins.

I really thanks to you or to any one who can do this for me. :lol:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 30, 2005 12:41 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 05, 2005 16:24
Posts: 5
Aramis,

Hi and your english seems pretty good so far.

Sorry it took a little while to post again here - I have a lot of things going on in my life right now which makes it hard for me to get any 'playtime' :lol:

Aramis, if you PM me with your email address I will forward some details of my connections as soon as I can.

Good luck and welcome to (in my opinion) a very addictive hobby :)

_________________
Sniff... what's that smell... kinda like burnt ozone... DOH!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 30, 2005 13:54 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2004 16:01
Posts: 218
Location: NH, USA
Dolomon wrote:
...welcome to (in my opinion) a very addictive hobby :)


Oh, you don't even know!!!! :D
Believe me, once you start, it becomes VERY addictive. :wink:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 30, 2005 16:14 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2004 17:42
Posts: 467
Location: The Netherlands
I had nothing to do with it, really :lol:

_________________
My Plexeon-Insane LCD!-Or this one!-LCDinfo-LCDStudio


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 30, 2005 17:54 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2004 16:01
Posts: 218
Location: NH, USA
coorz wrote:
I had nothing to do with it, really :lol:


Yeah, right..... :?
http://www.lcdstudio.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=13987#13987


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 30, 2005 21:27 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2004 17:42
Posts: 467
Location: The Netherlands
Uhm, that one err, well ok, sorry :oops:
BTW THNX for the goodies, box arrived safely! I owe you some mate.

_________________
My Plexeon-Insane LCD!-Or this one!-LCDinfo-LCDStudio


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 30, 2005 22:54 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2004 16:01
Posts: 218
Location: NH, USA
Being that I just sent the stuff out on Tuesday afternoon, I can't complain about the postal service!! :D
Enjoy my friend, and I hope to see some screens by the end of the weekend!! :wink:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 01, 2005 0:20 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 20:27
Posts: 130
Location: .fi
One~Zero wrote:


GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC + 2 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group