LCDInfo.com

http://www.lcdinfo.com
It is currently Mon Dec 17, 2018 0:48

All times are UTC + 2 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: LCD with "HD61830"
PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2003 22:06 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2003 22:04
Posts: 2
Hi!

I've got a LCD with a HD6130A00 controller on it.
Is this one compatible to the ones supported by LCDInfo?

Another problem:
The display has NO type written on it- and it has only 16 pin.
I had a closer look at my LCD and its controller.
This is the pinout:

Pin | Function
---------------
01: It goes to an adjustable resistor(Sorry, I don't know the English word for it ;-)). -Maybe it's for the contrast adjustment ?
02: Res (Reset)
03: CS
04: E
05: R/W
06: RS
07: GND
08: DB7
09: DB6
10: DB5
11: DB4
12: DB3
13: DB2
14: DB1
15: DB0
16: Vcc

Are these pins enough to use it ?
Or are there some more needed ?

And here's a picture from the front:
Image
And one from the back:
Image
Thanks
Peter

Would be great, if someone could help me!!

Thanks
Peter


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2003 22:29 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 05, 2002 22:05
Posts: 2063
Location: Lappeenranta, Finland
03: CS
04: E
05: R/W
06: RS

08: DB7
09: DB6
10: DB5
11: DB4
12: DB3
13: DB2
14: DB1
15: DB0

These pins should be enough to control the lcd. The pin going to the potentiometer (01) might be input for the negative contrast voltage if the display doesn't have that included.

Do you have any idea what might be the size of that display ?

LCDInfo doesn't support HD61830 yet but I'm working on support and at the moment I have a working test program for 240x128 HD61830 displays.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2003 23:21 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2003 1:14
Posts: 10
Location: Norway
I have a display based on the HD61830 too, and am currently working on a program for it. It's based on Henri's test code. Mail me (or Henri) for more info. (thomas AT idecor DOT no)

I don't know if you've found a datasheet for it, but if not: http://www.cityscope.net/jkonrath/hd61830.pdf

_________________
____________________________________
{To mod or not to mod, THAT's the question}


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 02, 2003 0:29 
Hi!

First thanks for the replies!

The size of the Display inside the metall frame is 8,9cm x 3,9cm- but I don't know the number of pixels.
Another question I have is, how I have to connect it to the LPT ?
I haven't found a plan, or something like that.
Mayve you could help me?

Thanks
Peter

PS: If the display is connected to the LPT correctly, then it can't destroy something if I try your test programm?


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 02, 2003 16:38 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2003 1:14
Posts: 10
Location: Norway
If you take a look at Henri's post, he's posted a "plan":
LPT: LCD
03: CS
04: E
05: R/W
06: RS

08: DB7
09: DB6
10: DB5
11: DB4
12: DB3
13: DB2
14: DB1
15: DB0

I'm not at home, so I can't check it right now. As long as the wirings' correct, I don't think you'll damage it. The test prog, may (if it doesn't work with your lcd) make it show just "junk".

Hope this helps,

Thomas

_________________
____________________________________
{To mod or not to mod, THAT's the question}


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 02, 2003 17:59 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 05, 2002 22:05
Posts: 2063
Location: Lappeenranta, Finland
What I posted wasn't any wiring plan, it was just the pins needed for controlling the lcd. The wiring that is currently used with the test program is probably still going to change so I haven't done any schematic about it.

If you want to try the test program, email me and I'll send it and the wiring it needs.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 02, 2003 18:27 
Hello!

I have another question concernig the contrast voltage.
How big is it usually?
I have no idea, how big it is for my display, so I thought, I would first try to connect the pin that goes to the potentiometer to ground.
Then I wanted to connect it to a low negative voltage and increase it slowly. -Or is there a better way to find out the right contrast voltage?

Thans
Peter


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 02, 2003 19:01 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 05, 2002 22:05
Posts: 2063
Location: Lappeenranta, Finland
I don't know any good ways to find out the contrast voltage if you don't have any data available.

Some contrast voltages with my displays are -8v, -15v and something between that. Some displays require more than that and some less.

You should be able to find out the required voltage by slowly increasing it.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 2 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group