LCDInfo.com

http://www.lcdinfo.com
It is currently Tue May 22, 2018 21:48

All times are UTC + 2 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: TLX-1361V-LOY1
PostPosted: Fri Oct 25, 2002 12:01 
Hello,
im from germany (sorry for my bad english).

I have a TLX-1361V-LOY1 -Display and iam an absolut newbie.
How do i have to connect the lcd pins with the lpt

i found this link http://www.skippari.net/lcd/kytkenta.html! thats annother lcd and the pins at the lcd are not the same.

e.g. in the datasheet of the lcd the pin 3 is not used!!!

is it right if i only change the pins of the lcd there with the pins of my lcd???

does anybody know to connect this lcd correctly!

thanks
marco


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 26, 2002 11:56 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 05, 2002 22:05
Posts: 2063
Location: Lappeenranta, Finland
I could probably tell you how to connect it if I could see the datasheet. Could you post it here ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 26, 2002 14:03 
Supply Voltage: VDD min: 4.75 typ: 5.0 max: 5.25
VEE min: -10.5 typ: -10.0 max: -9.5


1 Nc
2 VEE Powersupply for LCD Drive (Should be variable) ?????
3 Nc
4 CE
5 C/D
6 WR
7 RD
8 RESET
9 D0
..
16 D7
17 GND
18 BL-
19 VDD Powersupply for Logic ??????
20 BL+


i dont have a pdf file of the datasheet, only 40 sheets.

Do i need an external supply power or has the lpt port the power to let lcd work!

Marco


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 26, 2002 22:09 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 05, 2002 22:05
Posts: 2063
Location: Lappeenranta, Finland
It should work if you connect it using the pin names shown here:
http://www.skippari.net/lcd/t6963c_schem.html

I didn't see any pins missing or any extra pins, looks like they are just in different order.

To the pin 19 ( VDD ) you should connect +5v and to pin 2 ( VEE ) you should connect some variable powersupply that gives about -10v. The circuits at my schematics page should work for this.

You can't get the power from lpt port but you can get +5v from the computer. You can get -12v inside the computer also and use a 10kohm potentiometer to adjust it to -10v. This way you won't need the negative voltage circuit at all.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 26, 2002 23:55 
i adapt the table, please check if its right and i have some other questions

Image
--------
What i have to do with the Reset Pin 8? Do i hve to connect it with 5V Loggic Power Supply like in your schematic.
------------
I also have an backgroundlight which has the following notes in datasheet.
LED Forward Voltage : I = 350mA ; U = 4V (max).

How can i generate 4V?
5V Pc connect with 10kohm potentiometer ?!
is the amperage important?


Thank you for your help

Marco


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2002 2:52 
That's very easy , just put a 100 ohm potentiometer between the negative (K) pin of the Led backligght , and conect teh positive to the 5 5 volt lead , and there you go , you can now control your backlight from full bright to off :wink:

Hope to have helped.

SAmtech


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2002 2:54 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2002 2:24
Posts: 64
Location: Lisboa , Portugal
OOps , forgot to login :lol: :lol:

Anonymous wrote:
That's very easy , just put a 100 ohm potentiometer between the negative (K) pin of the Led backligght , and conect teh positive to the 5 5 volt lead , and there you go , you can now control your backlight from full bright to off :wink:

Hope to have helped.

SAmtech


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2002 11:43 
i think i understand, what
Quote:
negative (K) pin
mean K?
In the lcd is a bulit-in poti for the contrast but max. 4V
i still have to know what should i do with the reset pin!

thx


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2002 11:44 
Anonymous wrote:
i think i understand, what
Quote:
negative (K) pin
mean K?
In the lcd is a bulit-in poti for the contrast but max. 4V
i still have to know what should i do with the reset pin!

thx


Marco


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2002 11:49 
i measure the pc-voltage and it is not -12V but +12V or did i measure wrong?

Marco


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2002 11:58 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2002 11:56
Posts: 1
oh i made a big error i had to change the 12V and GND with GND 12V, so i have -12V :roll:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2002 12:22 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 05, 2002 22:05
Posts: 2063
Location: Lappeenranta, Finland
Marco wrote:
i adapt the table, please check if its right and i have some other questions

Image

I don't see anything strange here.

Quote:
--------
What i have to do with the Reset Pin 8? Do i hve to connect it with 5V Loggic Power Supply like in your schematic.

Yes, connect it to +5v.

Quote:
------------
I also have an backgroundlight which has the following notes in datasheet.
LED Forward Voltage : I = 350mA ; U = 4V (max).

How can i generate 4V?
5V Pc connect with 10kohm potentiometer ?!
is the amperage important?

As samtech already mentioned you could use a potentiometer to drop the voltage. But something that concerns me with this is that if you turn the backlight off using the pot it might get very warm and even burn. Of course this depends of the potentiometer used.

You could also use a fixed resistor with it.
Here's a place to do some calculations: http://www.bit-tech.net/article/68/

Using the values
Supply voltage: 5
Diode forward voltage: 4
Diode rated current: 350

it gives 3.3 ohm for the resistor value. You can see the calculator also gives you the power dissipations that may be of some help in deciding what to use.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2002 12:34 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 05, 2002 22:05
Posts: 2063
Location: Lappeenranta, Finland
Marco wrote:
i measure the pc-voltage and it is not -12V but +12V or did i measure wrong?

From the drive connector you can only get +5v and +12v. You can get the -12v from the atx connector going to the motherboard. Because of this I would recommend using some inverter circuit as shown at my schematics page to make the -10v from the +5v line.

Quote:
oh i made a big error i had to change the 12V and GND with GND 12V, so i have -12V

Unfortunately switching them like that won't work in this.
If you take the +5v you use the red +5v and black GND lines.
If you then take -12v like you said you are using black GND for -12v and yellow +12v for GND.
As you can see you are connecting GND and +12v for the ground potential and connecting them together can't be good.

EDIT:
After reading samtech's message below I'am now thinking that I wasn't clear enough what I meant above: don't try it - you'll fry your display like samtech said. Ok maybe you won't fry it because PSU's protection circuit will probably shut it down because of the short between +12v and GND but anyway I don't recommend trying it.


If someone knows this better I'd like to be corrected.


Last edited by Henri on Sun Oct 27, 2002 21:34, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2002 21:18 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2002 2:24
Posts: 64
Location: Lisboa , Portugal
Weel by doing that i'll fry the display , its' beter or to make a separate power suply for the lcd , or to go on and take the power from the ATX plug.

SAmtech


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 2 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group