LCDInfo.com

http://www.lcdinfo.com
It is currently Sat Feb 22, 2020 20:51

All times are UTC + 2 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jun 12, 2004 23:43 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2004 23:14
Posts: 14
Hi there. Im new here, and my english is very poor, so forget about that. I need somebody to help to wire that:
Image
This is a Sharp LM64C15P laptop lcd, and i would like to use it with my geforceMX400( :D ). I already have the datasheet, (but how can i upload anything there?), so what should i do?
Please help.
thx.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 13, 2004 17:43 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2004 22:38
Posts: 22
Hi
Either we are newbie's or you can't upload anything here.
The best is to upload to your web folder "get it somewhere" and link it here !

Here is what I made about a years ago, from a junky 486 Compaq Laptop.
Image
Image
Image
Image
The LCD using 9bit RGB input | and -- sync, on the pictures is hardwired to a 1Mb ISA videocard.

STEVE


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2004 0:14 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 05, 2002 22:05
Posts: 2063
Location: Lappeenranta, Finland
Bumbi wrote:
This is a Sharp LM64C15P laptop lcd, and i would like to use it with my geforceMX400( :D ). I already have the datasheet, (but how can i upload anything there?), so what should i do?
Please help.
thx.

No upload possibility here. At least not yet.
If you send the datasheet to my mail I can have a look at what kind lcd it is.

csaba911:
Would you mind giving some more information of how you did this and what signals did you interface the panel to ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2004 10:39 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2004 23:14
Posts: 14
OKHAY, i already sent it to csaba911, and he said, that he would upload it somewhere, and he wolud link it there. THX to all. Csaba911, please tell us more about your interesting project with the LCD!
And i hope, that, you can help me wiring my lcd ... :O)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2004 10:41 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2004 23:14
Posts: 14
And ovcourse, thx to ya, Henri, plz help us to do that!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2004 18:28 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2004 22:38
Posts: 22
I never had the datasheet for my lcd, all I find is the pin out.
Don't remember exactly but I find very similar as the VESA connectors pin out found on the older VGA card's.
My LCD had 9 bit pixel data, what I did !
Connected the lower 8 bit to the DAC pixel output and the V&H sync and DAC clock
For the 9th bit pixel data input on my LCD I just connected randomly to one of the pixel output of the DAC pixel output.
I got the best result in 640x480x8 bit [256 colour]

All power line come from the ISA card +5v and +12v.
I tried 2 more Compaq laptop LCD, same success.
Unfortunately no luck with any of the MONO VGA LCD.
This Sharp LCD have a built in controller, not like the new ones or the MONO LCD's

I sold the LCD's on E-Bay for $30 US
VGA feature connector
pin function
1 PD0 (DAC pixel data bit 0)
2 PD1 (DAC pixel data bit 1)
3 PD2 (DAC pixel data bit 2)
4 PD3 (DAC pixel data bit 3)
5 PD4 (DAC pixel data bit 4)
6 PD5 (DAC pixel data bit 5)
7 PD6 (DAC pixel data bit 6)
8 PD7 (DAC pixel data bit 7)
9 DAC clock
10 DAC blanking
11 Ext. horizontal sync
12 Ext. vertical sync
13 Ground

back side
pin function
1 Ground
2 Ground
3 Ground
4 Select Internal Video
5 Select Internal Syncs
6 Select Internal DAC
8..11 Ground

Good luck
CSABA


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2004 18:47 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2004 23:14
Posts: 14
Yoo, i uploaded the datasheet, so check this out boys, and help me:
http://bumbi1984.freeweb.hu/LM64C15P.pdf


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2004 23:08 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2004 23:14
Posts: 14
Are Anybody here? :roll: :?: What do u think of the datasheet?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2004 5:57 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2004 22:38
Posts: 22
As you can see from your datasheet, the display don't have controller only the LCD driver, I can't see how you are planning to connect it to your Video card.

The display area divide to upper and lower half, each need 8 bit of data, if you check page 8 of your datasheet you can see is very complicated timing.

I don't think you can connect it with out proper controller !

Just found one more LCD what I can use to connect to VGA card, made by NEC NL6448AC30.
In my case the LCDhave built in controller, an accept 4bit colour data [rx4,gx4,bx4] plus the h & v sync and clock.
Only problem is the 12bit input and the 8 bit output from my vga card, I have to lose some colour.


CSABA
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2004 20:57 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 05, 2002 22:05
Posts: 2063
Location: Lappeenranta, Finland
Thanks for the info csaba. I suspected that was the way you connected it but I wasn't 100% sure.

The way csaba used should work with TFT panels but older panels like LM64C15P use different interface. There isn't really any simple way to connect them that I know of. They work with controller boards but they can be expensive and probably not worth it when compared to the price of the display.

But if you're interested in digital electronics it should be something to play with and you could try making your own hardware to drive it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 18, 2004 23:19 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2004 23:14
Posts: 14
So boys, what do you recommend? What type of LCD? Csaba911, what is the type of the first one? It is so low quality to whatch some divX on it?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 18, 2004 23:34 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2004 23:14
Posts: 14
How can i get more colors? It needs a special card or a controller? why has the VESA bus only 8 bits (cabels) for colors? (I think that it is 256 colors, am i right?)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 19, 2004 22:07 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2004 23:14
Posts: 14
So what should i do? :roll: :roll: :roll:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 20, 2004 1:12 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2004 22:38
Posts: 22
No unfortunately you cant really watch video on this LCD's, the response time is to slow for that.
To get more color you need videocard with 16bit wide video DAC ?!
The chips is the laptop's are designed for dual operation. VGA/LCD, so their output is made for that !

On standard VGA you got 8bit wide DAC 256bit*256bit*256bit= 16.7 Mill color,RGB.
I'm surprised how my card work at all, but it did, and I'll try to hook up the one I have again ! Just to prove it.


CSABA


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 20, 2004 10:21 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 05, 2002 22:05
Posts: 2063
Location: Lappeenranta, Finland
Bumbi:
Are you still lookig at using this lcd with your vga card ? Unfortunately there doesn't seem to be any simple ways for this. A controller card is pretty much needed and they can be quite expensive. Maybe you might get lucky and find one for cheap.
Also you can't expect very good picture quality from this lcd.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC + 2 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group