LCDInfo.com

http://www.lcdinfo.com
It is currently Fri Jul 20, 2018 1:20

All times are UTC + 2 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jan 18, 2003 7:10 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2003 7:05
Posts: 4
I've got a CFAG12864B-WGH-V and it is all wired up. I thought I had it wired up correctly but I guess I don't.

When I ran LCD Info, my display would flash whenever lcd info would update, but it wouldn't display any information.

My question is, do I have a wiring issue or a timing issue? Any idea what line might cause that error?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 18, 2003 15:10 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 05, 2002 22:05
Posts: 2063
Location: Lappeenranta, Finland
It might be either wiring or timing problem. How long is your wiring ? Have you tried with different delay values in LCDInfo ?

Below is some software worth trying to find out if it would be a timing problem. Every prog below should have sligthly different timings in them.

Test prog:
http://www.skippari.net/lcd/ks0108.html

Simple test:
http://www.skippari.net/lcd/sekalaista/ks0108test.zip

With different timings:
http://www.skippari.net/lcd/forumstuff/ ... t_0.02.zip

More software by MarkusM:
http://www.cplayer.net/dsptech/index_eng.html


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 19, 2003 8:20 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2003 7:05
Posts: 4
My wiring is about 2 ft long. I have tried a wide range of values for the delay.

I tried all of those programs you listed. When they would activate, the screen would get brighter and then it would dim when the program would finish.

I'm going to double check that I have my wiring in the correct order tomorrow.

Any other suggestions?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 19, 2003 11:42 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 05, 2002 22:05
Posts: 2063
Location: Lappeenranta, Finland
Ok, as the result is same with all those programs I'd think you have a wiring problem.

Are you getting enough contrast ? If you turn the contrast potentiometer to the maximum do you have dark display ? If you don't you should check this:
http://www.skippari.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=208#208
You could also try measuring what the contrast voltage is.

Also I'd recommend measuring all voltages to make sure they are ok. I don't know of any special wire that would cause the problem so I recommend checking them all carefully.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 19, 2003 21:30 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2003 7:05
Posts: 4
I checked my wiring and all of my lines were in the correct order. Then I decided to double check the soldering to the lcd. When I was done re-soldering all of those lines I tried the lcd again.

Now when I use the "Simple Test" the lcd lights up all of the pixels, but will now also clear all of the pixels. When I tried to write a bitmap to the display, it flashed again. I tried that with a couple of timing number and nothing changed.

Test "With different timings": All it would do is clear my display.

LCDInfo would cause my display to light up and then go blank whenever the screen switched.

Thank you very much for your help.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 19, 2003 22:36 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 05, 2002 22:05
Posts: 2063
Location: Lappeenranta, Finland
There is a new version of LiQuiD-MP3 that has KS0108 support. You can find it here: http://zapour.student.utwente.nl/schijf ... ic.php?t=5

I tested it and it worked fine except that I had to switch the CS pins in the configuration.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 19, 2003 23:48 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 05, 2002 22:05
Posts: 2063
Location: Lappeenranta, Finland
I just happened to check the Crystalfontz forum and saw that you have asked about this there also: http://www.crystalfontz.com/forum/showt ... eadid=1420

There you posted the schematic for the Displaytech 64128A display.
Are you really using that as I have made a schematic for CFAG12864B-WGH-V also ?

Image

You also said that you are using 20 ohm resistor for the backlight. Do you have the CFAG12864B-WGH-V display as you aren't supposed to use any resistors with that as it has an EL backlight.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 20, 2003 23:36 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2003 7:05
Posts: 4
You're right, I posted the wrong schematic for my display, but I used the right one to wire up my lcd. Also, the model I listed was the wrong one. I have the TMI-V which has the led backlight. I've tested all the lines and the data appears to be going to the right lines, so I am lost.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 21, 2003 15:44 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 05, 2002 22:05
Posts: 2063
Location: Lappeenranta, Finland
Ok, so everything should be fine with the wiring.

Do you have a ground wire from the LPT connector to the LCD ?

You might wan't to ask about this at Zotty's forum too - maybe someone there would have some better ideas. http://zapour.student.utwente.nl/schijf/forum/index.php


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 2 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group