LCDInfo.com

http://www.lcdinfo.com
It is currently Fri May 02, 2025 17:53

All times are UTC + 2 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 288 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 ... 20  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 12, 2006 1:26 
Offline

Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 13:46
Posts: 4
i was going to use a 12c508 to be the chip attached to the display (just because i have them already) and set it to accept serial data
it probably wouldnt be able to fit all of the graphical functions on it tho.

just being able to accept basic commands like um, in the c64 or trs80 day

line (x1,y1)(x2,y2)
box x1,y1,x2,y2
circle x,y,r
text x,y,text
setpixel
scrollx1,y1,x2,y2,s

of course these would have to be stripped down a bit for speeds sake
say to, 8 bytes per instruction

1st things 1st, im going to hook it up to parallel and bash it with some visual basic code to see roughly how much space its all going to take up on a PIC.
i already suspect the 12c5XX might not have the space i need, if thats the case, i'll be sticking to a parallel hookup

its early, if im babbling and not making sence, say so


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 12, 2006 14:15 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 20:33
Posts: 6
Well... you're making sense alright, it's just me who haven't enough knowledge in electronics!
As far as I've seen, using pic is extremely high speed, but it's all i know.
My biggest problem in living in Portugal is the hart it is to find components. Sometimes, if i find them, they're too expensive.
For now i just miss the down and the up shifters. That's the next purchase!
After that, if there was a generic 128x128px usb display driver, than the problem would be totally solved!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 21, 2006 14:47 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 14:42
Posts: 3
Hi,

I know it's a reccurent problem, but haven't found a working solution
so any help would be appreciated !!

symptoms :
the lcd turns on with the power and turns blue with DISON
but nothing dislplayed and vol +/- has no effect ...

here's my init code :
Code:
  CS0          // CS = 0
  SDA0        // SDATA = 0
  CLK1        // CLK = 1

  RESET1    // RESET = 1
  RESET0    // RESET = 0
  RESET1    // RESET = 1

  CLK1       // CLK = 1
  SDA1      // SDATA = 1
  CLK1       // CLK = 1

  waitms(10);

  sendCMD(0xca);  //Software Reset
  sendData(0x03);
  sendData(0x20);
  sendData(0x0C);
  sendData(0x00);
 
  sendCMD(0xbb);  // comscn
  sendData(0x01);

  sendCMD(0xd1);  // oscon

  sendCMD(0x94);  // sleep out
 
  waitms(100);

  sendCMD(0x81);  // volume Ctrl
  sendData(0xff);
  sendData(0x01);
 
 
  sendCMD(0x20);  // power ctrl
  sendData(0x0f);
  waitms(100);

  sendCMD(0xa7);  // display mode inverse

  sendCMD(0xbc);  // datctl
  sendData(0x00);
  sendData(0x00);
  sendData(0x01);
  sendData(0x03);

   
    sendCMD(0xce);   // setup color lookup table
    // RED
    sendData(0);
    sendData(2);
    sendData(4);
    sendData(6);
    sendData(8);
    sendData(10);
    sendData(12);
    sendData(15);
    // GREEN
    sendData(0);
    sendData(2);
    sendData(4);
    sendData(6);
    sendData(8);
    sendData(10);
    sendData(12);
    sendData(15);
    // BLUE
    sendData(0);
    sendData(4);
    sendData(8);
    sendData(12);

    sendCMD(0x25);  // nop
 
     sendCMD(0x75);       // page start/end ram
     sendData(0x02);       
     sendData(0x83);       
     sendCMD(0x15);     // column start/end ram
     sendData(0x00);       
     sendData(0x83);       
   
     waitms(200);

  sendCMD(0xaf);   // display on

  waitms(200);
[/code]


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 21, 2006 18:01 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 20:27
Posts: 130
Location: .fi
majestik666 wrote:
Hi,

I know it's a reccurent problem, but haven't found a working solution
so any help would be appreciated !!

symptoms :
the lcd turns on with the power and turns blue with DISON
but nothing dislplayed and vol +/- has no effect ...

here's my init code :
Code:
  sendCMD(0xbc);  // datctl
  sendData(0x00);
  sendData(0x00);
  sendData(0x01);
  sendData(0x03);


I only have 3 bytes as parameters for this command: 0x01, 0x01, 0x02

But I don't remember what mode did it set. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 8:38 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 4:02
Posts: 5
I used epson controller..
I set the color 4096....
but the display was very bad,likely 256...
why ?
Can anyone tell me?

sorry for my english..

_________________
lcdlcm


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 16:24 
Offline

Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 16:09
Posts: 2
hi,

I've got a problem with my new lcd 6100 with the sparkfun board. it lights up but nothing gets displayed, although i set it up to display a square in the middle.

anyway here's mine line code:

#include <at89c5131.h>
sfr p1= 0x90;
sfr p2= 0xa0;
sfr spcon= 0xc3;
sfr spsta= 0xc4;
sfr spdata= 0xc5;
sbit res_lcd= p1^ 1;
sbit spd= p1^ 7;
sbit spc= p1^ 6;
sbit spen= 0xc3^ 6;
sbit spif= 0xc4^ 7;
char xdata lcd_con _at_ 0x1000;
char xdata lcd_data _at_ 0x1100;
char code lcd[6][27] ={{0,126,36,66,66,0},
{0,36,18,18,36,56}};



void sp_data(unsigned char dat1);
void sp_com(unsigned char op);
void start_lcd();
void pic();
void delay();
void delay()
{
int i,j;
for(j=2;j!=0;j--)
{
for(i=250;i!=0;i--);
}
}

void lcd_put_pixel(unsigned char color,unsigned char x,unsigned char y)
{

sp_com(0x75);sp_data(x);sp_data(132);
sp_com(0x15);sp_data(y);sp_data(131);
sp_com(0x5c); sp_data(color);
}

void sp_com(unsigned char op)
{
int i;unsigned char test;

p2=0x7f;

spdata=0x0;
while(spif==0);
delay();
p2=0xff;
delay();
p2=0x7f;
delay();
}
spdata=op;
while(spif==0);
delay();
p2=0xff;
delay();
}

void sp_data(unsigned char dat1)
{
int i;
p2=0x7f;
delay();
for (i=0;i<100;i++);
while(spif==0);
delay();
p2=0xff;
delay();
p2=0x7f;
delay();
spdata=dat1;
while(spif==0);
delay();
p2=0xff;
delay();
}

void start_lcd()
{
int i,j,k;
unsigned char colors[20]={0,2,4,6,8,10,12,15,0,2,4,6,8,10,12,15,0,4,9,15};
sp_com(0xca);sp_data(0x03);sp_data(32);sp_data(12);sp_data(0x00); //Control the Display
sp_com(0xbb);sp_data(0x01); //Scan Direction
sp_com(0xd1); //internal Oscillation
sp_com(0x94); //Sleep Out
for (k=0;k<200;k++) delay();
sp_com(0x81);sp_data(5);sp_data(0x01);//Electronic Volume defines the Contrast/Brighness of the Lcd
sp_com(0x20);sp_data(0x0f);delay();//Power Control-EveryThing On
sp_com(0xa7);//Inverse Display
sp_com(0xbc);sp_data(0x00);sp_data(0);sp_data(0x01);sp_data(0x00);//Data Scan Direction Control
sp_com(0xce);//256 Color Mode
for(i=0;i!=20;i++) sp_data(colors[i]);
sp_com(0x75);sp_data(2);sp_data(131);// Y Coordinate
sp_com(0x15);sp_data(0);sp_data(131);// X Coordinate
sp_com(0x5c);
for (j=0;i<18000;i++) sp_data(28);// Background Is green
for (k=0;k<200;k++) delay();
sp_com(0xaf);
for (k=0;k<200;k++) delay();
for (i=0;i<160;i++){
sp_com(0xd6);
delay ();
}
for (i=0;i<4096;i++) lcd_put_pixel(i,(i%64)+32,(i/64)+32);
}

void main()
{
p2=0x7f;
res_lcd=1;
delay();
res_lcd=0;
delay();
res_lcd=1;
delay();
spcon=0xdd;//Cpol=1 Cpha=1 etc..
p2=0xff;
start_lcd();

}

any help with the problem will be deeply aprriceted (i'ts for my bsc tech diploma)


And of course thank you very much from the start.

:roll:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 24, 2006 7:04 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 4:02
Posts: 5
funkey wrote:
I used epson controller..
I set the color 4096....
but the display was very bad,likely 256...
why ?
Can anyone tell me?

sorry for my english..


I have solve my promblem:adjust the Contrast

haha.......

_________________
lcdlcm


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 24, 2006 7:23 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 14:42
Posts: 3
solved my problem as well !

I was being lazy and using a voltage divider for the power supply
BAD idea, put a voltage regulator and worked instantly !
just have to figure out the contrast/brightness thing now
(my colors are washed out...)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 24, 2006 15:10 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 14:42
Posts: 3
after solving all my power supply / brightness contrast problems
i played a bit with a setpixel function to start displaying
something a bit more interesting, but I ended up having some
weird behaviours...

I'm drawing some rectangles on screen, and from time to time
(1 or 2 pixels per screen), some points do go to the wrong coordinates
like on this image :
Image
the top line is missing 2 pixels ...

could that be a noise problem on my lines going to the lcd ?

am using an atmega 8 and an lcd carrier board with
a 6100 lcd w/ epson controller

thanks for your ideas :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 07, 2007 13:46 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 13:01
Posts: 10
Just been looking at using these displays in a product. Thought I'd share a few thoughts & ask a couple of questions before I get stuck in....

Philips versus Epson...?
With the large number of non-original modules around, e.g. on ebay, determining which chip is used can be a problem - the avarage cellphone parts dealer won't have a clue, and things like flexi colours apparently can't be relied upon.
However looking at a few pictures, there is a very noticeable difference in the size of the driver chip visible at the top.
If you look at the second post in this thread, you can see that the chip on the right (Epson) is significantly bigger. The nice thing about this is you can usually see this in pics in ebay listings as the difference is easily noticeable even on a poor photo.
However this may not be the full story. AFAK, there are 3 chips : Epson, Philips and LDS (Philips compatible). However I have 4 modules in front of me, with 4 different chip sizes.....
From the datasheets : Epson die 2.6x24.8mm (estimate based on pad locations of 2.35x24.5), Philips 2.3x23mm, LDS 20.7 x 1.8.
I have a module with a large chip of 23.6x2.8, which I think is Epson.
I also have 3 smaller ones, all around 2mm high x 18.8, 21.0 and 23.5mm respectively. Only the largest of these (out of a Nokia phone so probably original and has the large gold pads) matches the Philips dims, so I wonder what the 18.8mm one is - another clone maybe?
It would be useful if anyone can confirm or refute the large=Epson/Small=Philips hypothesis based on modules they've seen to help others identify modules.

Looking at the dataheets, the only main functional difference I can see is that the Philips supports 16 bit (dithered) pixels - has anyone had a play with this, as the Philips datasheet has no info on what it actually does - I'm guessing something like for a 5 bit value, it alternates the lsbit of the 4 bit data between successive pixels if bit 0 is set.

Is this the only significant functional difference? the dithering would be useful for my application, and the Philips datasheet is somewhat more comprehesive and comprehensible then the Epson, so I'm leaning heavily towards using the Philips.
Does anyone have any reason to prefer the Epson (ignoring code availability as I'll be coding from scratch)?

Backlight supply....
Looking at cheap ways to power the backlight from a 5V supply, I came up with the Texas TPS60403. This is a cheap (UKP0.28 10x) +5 to -5 charge pump in SOT23-5, which only needs 3 cheap 1u caramics and no inductor.
As the backlight LED appears to be isolated from the module, it can be connected between +5 and the -ve output of the TI chip with a current-limiting resistor. (I have seen some module pinout references showing 2 GND pins, but I suspect these are mistaken and one of these is in fact the backlight -ve). Possibly not the best efficiency, but that doesn't matter for my app. Efficiency could maybe be inproved by reducing the series R and using a lower value cap on the charge pump.
It might also just be useable on the +3v3 supply depending on the exact Vf of the backlight LEDs - not had a chance to test yet. I'd think it would probably be OK on a 3.6v li-ion supply though.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Wiring problems?
PostPosted: Sun Jan 07, 2007 23:20 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 21:45
Posts: 1
Hi there.
Im very new to this, and i cant seem to get it right.
And ill need some help.

Ive just bought "Nokia Color LCD & Driver board" from JELU
And also a FT245BM Module

Here is how i wired it.

LCD Driver board
Pin 8 VCC -> 3.3v
Pin 7 PWM-IN -> 3.3v
Pin 6 #CS -> D3(FT245BM)
Pin 5 SCK -> D2(FT245BM)
Pin 4 SDATA -> D1(FT245BM)
Pin 3 #RESET -> D0(FT245BM)
Pin 2 VIN -> 3.3v
Pin 1 GND -> -3.3v

I guess this isnt correct, when the power turns on the display lits up direct.
Ive tried to send stuff to the USB but im not sure im doing right here either.

Ive installed the usb as virtual com port. and then sends raw bytes to it.
Nothing happens whatever i send.

Grateful for any help!
//Kojak


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 08, 2007 19:47 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 22:31
Posts: 3
mike - have you looked at the schematic for a backlight supply in the jelu.se shop? It uses a Linear IC (LT1937) which I got for free as a sample. You cant get much cheaper than that.

http://www.jelu.se/shop/pdf/lcd_driver_board.pdf

edit - I got my display to fill with colours eventually but when I send all 0xE0 in 256 colour mode it comes out as a pale yellow not deep red as I expected. I've set all the lookup table so thats ok. Am I wrong?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2007 14:31 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 13:01
Posts: 10
As I said, I was looking for a production solution, not a 1-off. As well as the chip being cheap, it needs no external inductor or diode, just three 1u ceramic caps and a resistor, giving a very small and cheap solution for where a regulated 5V supply is available.
I've now tested the TPS60403 and it works fine. Using 150R in the output, draws 50mA at 5V for 20mA backlight drive.
Reducing the pump cap and resistor does not seem to improve efficiency noticeably.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 6:07 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 9:11
Posts: 2
does anyone have pinout for lcd 3220/6020/6021/7260 ?
its almsot the same like the 6100 etc but it has 12 pins...

I found the LED- and LED+, the GND, the VCC and another VCC but there are 5 more bit what i donno which is which.. its ok there is SDA SCL CS and RST but the what is the 5th? and ofcourse i donno which are the data bits..

please help me!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 11:50 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 13:01
Posts: 10
There are some full schematics of several Nokia phones here - this should give you a start if there's one for one of these phones :
http://www.eserviceinfo.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 288 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 ... 20  Next

All times are UTC + 2 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group