LCDInfo.com

http://www.lcdinfo.com
It is currently Tue Apr 16, 2024 8:44

All times are UTC + 2 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2003 19:07 
Is there an easy way to port the 8514oem character set to the controller in CGRAM mode on the T6963c?


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2003 19:10 
Sorry I didn't really give any information as to the nature of the problem I'm having. Basically I need to display European text from a database (which is dynamic and I need to map it to the character set in the controller). The standard ASCII characters used by default in CGROM mode does not include all of the characters we need and we don't have enough RAM for the code to make exceptions for every character that is not in the ASCII set.

Thanks
:)


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2003 19:43 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 5:41
Posts: 43
Hi Sorry for english

Image

I use this image for my projekt
Mmm.. you can BitBlt the Char from this image with fellow code...

Only Sample..

Code:
Private Sub ScrollMessage(Destination As Control, Charact As String, IDpic As Integer)

    'Called to set the message picture

    Dim startX As Long
    Dim i As Integer

    If IDpic = 0 Then
        startX = 0
    Else
        startX = IDpic * 5
    End If

    If Charact = "" Or Charact = " " Then
        BitBlt Destination.hdc, startX, 0, 5, 6, PicSrcText.hdc, 150, 0, SRCCOPY
    ElseIf Charact > Chr(96) And Charact < Chr(110) Or Charact > Chr(64) And Charact < Chr(78) Then

        Select Case Charact

            Case Is = "a", "A"
                BitBlt Destination.hdc, startX, 0, 5, 6, PicSrcText.hdc, 0, 0, SRCCOPY

            Case Is = "b", "B"
                BitBlt Destination.hdc, startX, 0, 5, 6, PicSrcText.hdc, 5, 0, SRCCOPY

            Case Is = "c", "C"
                BitBlt Destination.hdc, startX, 0, 5, 6, PicSrcText.hdc, 10, 0, SRCCOPY


and write the char as Bitmap to the LCD!
It's work great Show my Projekt.. Paint your own Char to the Bitmap and paint it to LCD

Destination As Control = Picturebox that has "HDC" and Autoredraw = True
IDpic = position where paint the Char to LCD
Charact As String = only one char "A" or what ...

Greetings Emil


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Not enough memory
PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2003 20:20 
Thanks Emil for the suggestion. However, the problem with this is still the same, not all characters are included and we don't have the memory available to re-map all of the special exceptions.


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2003 20:32 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 5:41
Posts: 43
HI

Your Problem!
You can not have more Chars as the datasheet give for you...
When you will use your own char then write it as "BIN" to a Text File and
give everey Char a new (Design) from the Text File

Here is a Sample for Chars 5x7

:32
00000
00000
00000
00000
00000
00000
00000

:37
11000
11001
00010
00100
01000
10011
00011

:45
00000
00000
00000
01110
00000
00000
00000

Replease the Chars from Rom with this Char$(33) =:33

Greetings.. Sorry for my English Emil


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2003 20:42 
Thanks again Emil.

The problem with this is that there are 256 characters that I would have to program in this way (which would take quite a while). I don't know ahead of time exactly what characters I'll need to display, it's text that foreign people will be putting into a database in German, Spanish, and a couple other European languages. I pretty much have to have all of the characters in the 8514oem character set.


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2003 20:42 
(oops, sorry about the username as Guest)
:)


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2003 20:59 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 5:41
Posts: 43
My DataSheet of T6963C say fellow!

Internal Character Generator Font Pattern and Character Codes
The internal character generator ROM (CG-ROM) has 128 characters stored in it. The Mode Set
command (section 8.3) should be set for CG-ROM mode before using this builtin CG-ROM.

Hmm .. you can not have more as 128 characters.


Greetings Emil


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2003 21:05 
There are 2 different modes with the character sets in this controller. There is CGROM mode in which there are 128 built-in characters (the ones you speak of) as well as 128 user-generated characters. The other mode is CGRAM mode in which there are 0 built-in characters and 256 user-generated characters. I need a way to generate the 256 characters in the 8514oem character set. I'm not about to program all 6x8 pixels of all 256 characters by hand. Also, memory is a concern so we would not have space for the code to hardcode all of that.


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2003 21:18 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 5:41
Posts: 43
Yes you have right

Do not have a Datasheet and read it for this problem?

To use only the 256 character CG-RAM userdefined
character generator set D3 to one. Refer to section 11.0 for more information regarding the
setting of D3. D2-D0 sets the mode by which the Text Area is merged with the Graphics Area. Note
that text attributes can only be used in the Text only mode as the attribute data is stored in the
graphics area.

Greetings.. Emil


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2003 21:34 
Thanks yet again, Emil, for your help. You are correct. So that gives me a means of defining my own characters, but I have to program them in 1 pixel at a time by hand.

For example: "E"

011111 -> 31
010000 -> 16
010000 -> 16
011100 -> 28
010000 -> 16
010000 -> 16
011111 -> 31
000000 -> 0

I would basically have to do this for 256 different characters. For more complex characters, this can be extremely time-consuming. I'm trying to find a way around that as I don't want to spend a week programing in pixels for a character set.

Thanks


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2003 21:51 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 5:41
Posts: 43
Hi
Use my little Chareditor with SourceCode


http://home.t-online.de/home/emilweiss/Custom%20Chars.rar

Greetings Emil


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2003 22:14 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 05, 2002 22:05
Posts: 2063
Location: Lappeenranta, Finland
I guess you are working on some microcontroller as you have this little memory available. How much memory do you exactly have to use for this ?

Also would you have some link to the 8514oem character map as my quick search didn't reveal anything really usable and I'm on a rather slow internet connection now.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2003 22:36 
Emil, thanks for the application. The executable won't run and I don't currently have Visual Basic available to me so I will try that tonight.

Henri, I don't have a link with an online table of the character set but if you go to http://ourworld.compuserve.com/homepages/r_harvey/asciicat.htm then there's a Windows Help File with it (I'm using some propietary documentation that has essentially the same list that I can't make a copy of and send out). You can tell this is quite different than what the standard ASCII set is (http://www.asciitable.com/).

Thanks


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2003 22:39 
Henri,

I'm not entirely sure exactly how much free space we have at this point as the entire project is still in flux. However, we have already hit the point of everything being too large and us having to compress things more before even looking at this. I think the last build had about 200 bytes to spare.


Top
  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC + 2 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group