LCDInfo.com http://forum.lcdinfo.com/ |
|
European Characters with the T6963c http://forum.lcdinfo.com/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=265 |
Page 1 of 2 |
Author: | Jaxidian [ Tue Jun 10, 2003 19:07 ] |
Post subject: | European Characters with the T6963c |
Is there an easy way to port the 8514oem character set to the controller in CGRAM mode on the T6963c? |
Author: | Jaxidian [ Tue Jun 10, 2003 19:10 ] |
Post subject: | a little more information |
Sorry I didn't really give any information as to the nature of the problem I'm having. Basically I need to display European text from a database (which is dynamic and I need to map it to the character set in the controller). The standard ASCII characters used by default in CGROM mode does not include all of the characters we need and we don't have enough RAM for the code to make exceptions for every character that is not in the ASCII set. Thanks |
Author: | Emil Weiss [ Tue Jun 10, 2003 19:43 ] |
Post subject: | |
Hi Sorry for english I use this image for my projekt Mmm.. you can BitBlt the Char from this image with fellow code... Only Sample.. Code: Private Sub ScrollMessage(Destination As Control, Charact As String, IDpic As Integer)
'Called to set the message picture Dim startX As Long Dim i As Integer If IDpic = 0 Then startX = 0 Else startX = IDpic * 5 End If If Charact = "" Or Charact = " " Then BitBlt Destination.hdc, startX, 0, 5, 6, PicSrcText.hdc, 150, 0, SRCCOPY ElseIf Charact > Chr(96) And Charact < Chr(110) Or Charact > Chr(64) And Charact < Chr(78) Then Select Case Charact Case Is = "a", "A" BitBlt Destination.hdc, startX, 0, 5, 6, PicSrcText.hdc, 0, 0, SRCCOPY Case Is = "b", "B" BitBlt Destination.hdc, startX, 0, 5, 6, PicSrcText.hdc, 5, 0, SRCCOPY Case Is = "c", "C" BitBlt Destination.hdc, startX, 0, 5, 6, PicSrcText.hdc, 10, 0, SRCCOPY and write the char as Bitmap to the LCD! It's work great Show my Projekt.. Paint your own Char to the Bitmap and paint it to LCD Destination As Control = Picturebox that has "HDC" and Autoredraw = True IDpic = position where paint the Char to LCD Charact As String = only one char "A" or what ... Greetings Emil |
Author: | Jaxidian [ Tue Jun 10, 2003 20:20 ] |
Post subject: | Not enough memory |
Thanks Emil for the suggestion. However, the problem with this is still the same, not all characters are included and we don't have the memory available to re-map all of the special exceptions. |
Author: | Emil Weiss [ Tue Jun 10, 2003 20:32 ] |
Post subject: | |
HI Your Problem! You can not have more Chars as the datasheet give for you... When you will use your own char then write it as "BIN" to a Text File and give everey Char a new (Design) from the Text File Here is a Sample for Chars 5x7 :32 00000 00000 00000 00000 00000 00000 00000 :37 11000 11001 00010 00100 01000 10011 00011 :45 00000 00000 00000 01110 00000 00000 00000 Replease the Chars from Rom with this Char$(33) =:33 Greetings.. Sorry for my English Emil |
Author: | Guest [ Tue Jun 10, 2003 20:42 ] |
Post subject: | |
Thanks again Emil. The problem with this is that there are 256 characters that I would have to program in this way (which would take quite a while). I don't know ahead of time exactly what characters I'll need to display, it's text that foreign people will be putting into a database in German, Spanish, and a couple other European languages. I pretty much have to have all of the characters in the 8514oem character set. |
Author: | Jaxidian [ Tue Jun 10, 2003 20:42 ] |
Post subject: | |
(oops, sorry about the username as Guest) |
Author: | Emil Weiss [ Tue Jun 10, 2003 20:59 ] |
Post subject: | |
My DataSheet of T6963C say fellow! Internal Character Generator Font Pattern and Character Codes The internal character generator ROM (CG-ROM) has 128 characters stored in it. The Mode Set command (section 8.3) should be set for CG-ROM mode before using this builtin CG-ROM. Hmm .. you can not have more as 128 characters. Greetings Emil |
Author: | Jaxidian [ Tue Jun 10, 2003 21:05 ] |
Post subject: | |
There are 2 different modes with the character sets in this controller. There is CGROM mode in which there are 128 built-in characters (the ones you speak of) as well as 128 user-generated characters. The other mode is CGRAM mode in which there are 0 built-in characters and 256 user-generated characters. I need a way to generate the 256 characters in the 8514oem character set. I'm not about to program all 6x8 pixels of all 256 characters by hand. Also, memory is a concern so we would not have space for the code to hardcode all of that. |
Author: | Emil Weiss [ Tue Jun 10, 2003 21:18 ] |
Post subject: | |
Yes you have right Do not have a Datasheet and read it for this problem? To use only the 256 character CG-RAM userdefined character generator set D3 to one. Refer to section 11.0 for more information regarding the setting of D3. D2-D0 sets the mode by which the Text Area is merged with the Graphics Area. Note that text attributes can only be used in the Text only mode as the attribute data is stored in the graphics area. Greetings.. Emil |
Author: | Jaxidian [ Tue Jun 10, 2003 21:34 ] |
Post subject: | |
Thanks yet again, Emil, for your help. You are correct. So that gives me a means of defining my own characters, but I have to program them in 1 pixel at a time by hand. For example: "E" 011111 -> 31 010000 -> 16 010000 -> 16 011100 -> 28 010000 -> 16 010000 -> 16 011111 -> 31 000000 -> 0 I would basically have to do this for 256 different characters. For more complex characters, this can be extremely time-consuming. I'm trying to find a way around that as I don't want to spend a week programing in pixels for a character set. Thanks |
Author: | Emil Weiss [ Tue Jun 10, 2003 21:51 ] |
Post subject: | |
Hi Use my little Chareditor with SourceCode http://home.t-online.de/home/emilweiss/Custom%20Chars.rar Greetings Emil |
Author: | Henri [ Tue Jun 10, 2003 22:14 ] |
Post subject: | |
I guess you are working on some microcontroller as you have this little memory available. How much memory do you exactly have to use for this ? Also would you have some link to the 8514oem character map as my quick search didn't reveal anything really usable and I'm on a rather slow internet connection now. |
Author: | Jaxidian [ Tue Jun 10, 2003 22:36 ] |
Post subject: | |
Emil, thanks for the application. The executable won't run and I don't currently have Visual Basic available to me so I will try that tonight. Henri, I don't have a link with an online table of the character set but if you go to http://ourworld.compuserve.com/homepages/r_harvey/asciicat.htm then there's a Windows Help File with it (I'm using some propietary documentation that has essentially the same list that I can't make a copy of and send out). You can tell this is quite different than what the standard ASCII set is (http://www.asciitable.com/). Thanks |
Author: | Jaxidian [ Tue Jun 10, 2003 22:39 ] |
Post subject: | |
Henri, I'm not entirely sure exactly how much free space we have at this point as the entire project is still in flux. However, we have already hit the point of everything being too large and us having to compress things more before even looking at this. I think the last build had about 200 bytes to spare. |
Page 1 of 2 | All times are UTC + 2 hours |
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group http://www.phpbb.com/ |