LCDInfo.com

http://www.lcdinfo.com
It is currently Thu Nov 23, 2017 3:30

All times are UTC + 2 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 55 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Crystalfontz LCD
PostPosted: Sat Aug 24, 2002 1:32 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2002 1:28
Posts: 39
Location: CA, USA
i have a crystalfontz graphic LCD and was wondering if i could use this scematic drawing to hook it up. http://www.skippari.net/lcd/KS0108_HD61 ... A_ver2.pdf
i have a CFAG12864B-WGH-V. anything would help, thanks.

_________________
...and the geeks shall inherit the earth (Bob 5:5)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Crystalfontz LCD
PostPosted: Sat Aug 24, 2002 2:22 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 05, 2002 22:05
Posts: 2063
Location: Lappeenranta, Finland
computergeekguy wrote:
i have a crystalfontz graphic LCD and was wondering if i could use this scematic drawing to hook it up. http://www.skippari.net/lcd/KS0108_HD61 ... A_ver2.pdf
i have a CFAG12864B-WGH-V. anything would help, thanks.


128x64 STN Positive, Transflective, Wide Temperature, White EL backlit LCD Module with Built-in Negative Voltage Generator
http://www.crystalfontz.com/products/12 ... 4BWGHV.pdf
http://www.crystalfontz.com/products/12864b/index.html

Yes, you can use it as a reference but you need to make some changes:

parallel pin - lcd pin

2 - 4 DB0
3 - 5 DB1
4 - 6 DB2
5 - 7 DB3
6 - 8 DB4
7 - 9 DB5
8 - 10 DB6
9 - 11 DB7

14 - 12 CS1
16 - 13 CS2
17 - 16 D/I
1 - 17 E

The display has the GROUND and +5V pins switched compared to the schematic. Also check the places of other pins like RESET and R/W. If you follow the names of the lcd pins in the schematic instead of pin numbers everything should be fine. This Crystalfontz display also doesn't have LED backlight so you need an inverter for the EL backlight.

I didn't use the 10k pull up resistors while wiring my display. If you don't use these resistors then you won't connect the lines to Vcc either. Just straight from lcd to lpt.

Let me know if you need any further information. If you're not sure about something it's better ask first. :)

Here are also newer versions of lcdinfo that should have fixed some bugs in the KS0108 code:
http://www.skippari.net/lcd/LCDInfo_0.3.1pre2.zip
http://www.skippari.net/lcd/LCDInfo_0.3.1pre2_nt.zip

Crystalfontz CFAG12864B-WGH-V pinout:
Image

Displaytech 64128A pinout:
Image


Last edited by Henri on Sat Aug 24, 2002 23:41, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 24, 2002 3:39 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2002 1:28
Posts: 39
Location: CA, USA
thanks
I have a few more questions. On the schematic what does the “VCC” stand for and where does it go? Also on the schematic coming on the LCD pin “A” what is that on the lead and what is the 1.5 referring to?
Oh, and what kind of an inverter do I need and where would I get one?

_________________
...and the geeks shall inherit the earth (Bob 5:5)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 24, 2002 9:31 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 05, 2002 22:05
Posts: 2063
Location: Lappeenranta, Finland
computergeekguy wrote:
thanks
I have a few more questions. On the schematic what does the “VCC” stand for and where does it go?


Vcc is +5V e.g. same as Vdd in the pinouts.

Quote:
Also on the schematic coming on the LCD pin “A” what is that on the lead and what is the 1.5 referring to?


It's a 1,5 ohm resistor for the led backlight. Because you have the EL backlight you don't use that and also you don't connect the pin to Vcc (+5V), but instead the A and K pins go to inverter. You can leave out the inverter at first to see that everything else is working.

Quote:
Oh, and what kind of an inverter do I need and where would I get one?

I noticed that in the data sheet there was something mentioned of 110V AC / 400 Hz.

So where do you live ? It's little hard for me to know where to get it, but there was something mentioned about inverters at hard forum while ago:

http://www.hardforums.com/showthread.ph ... did=458170

From http://info.digikey.com/T022/V5/0943.pdf
Image

Size of your display is 60.0 x 32.6 mm so the size of your EL element is something like ~20 cm2 (3.3x6 cm).

Based on that NDL-202 should work for you.
http://www.jkllamps.com/briefs/NDL202.pdf
http://rocky.digikey.com/scripts/Produc ... &M=NDL-202

I guess that some basic EL backlight inverter would work fine.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 24, 2002 22:58 
i am in southern california, USA. anyway thanks i can now go to my local electronics store and bug them for the parts, thanks again.


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 24, 2002 23:02 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2002 1:28
Posts: 39
Location: CA, USA
he he i am such a dork i used my other login. the reply above is from me as well.

_________________
...and the geeks shall inherit the earth (Bob 5:5)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 24, 2002 23:14 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2002 1:28
Posts: 39
Location: CA, USA
ok ok i know that you have explained things really carefully but i have one more question. so every place on the scematic where it says VCC i would connect +5v from my power supply. Although would i need those resistors to get the right amperage? i am sure that connecting them directly from the powersupply would definatly fry something. the side of my power supply says that 300W it produces 30A. That seemss awfully high. i really don't want to fry another LCD. trust me it isn't pretty or cheep.

_________________
...and the geeks shall inherit the earth (Bob 5:5)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 24, 2002 23:38 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 05, 2002 22:05
Posts: 2063
Location: Lappeenranta, Finland
computergeekguy wrote:
so every place on the scematic where it says VCC i would connect +5v from my power supply. Although would i need those resistors to get the right amperage? i am sure that connecting them directly from the powersupply would definatly fry something. the side of my power supply says that 300W it produces 30A. That seemss awfully high. i really don't want to fry another LCD. trust me it isn't pretty or cheep.

You're absolutely right. If you leave out the resistors you won't connect them to +5V either. I should have mentioned this but I didn't even think about it. Sorry about that.

You can connect the CS1, CS2, E, D/I lines straight from lcd pins to lpt pins without any resistors or Vcc connections. If you use the resistors then you connect them to Vcc like in the schematic.

If you notice any other mistakes let me know.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 25, 2002 1:27 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2002 1:28
Posts: 39
Location: CA, USA
ok i noticed something else on the scematic. pin 17 on the LCD has a resistor on it and is connected to the VCC, is this needed? also the Vo(pin 3) is wired before or after the resistor and is it series or paralell? thanks.

_________________
...and the geeks shall inherit the earth (Bob 5:5)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 25, 2002 1:51 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 05, 2002 22:05
Posts: 2063
Location: Lappeenranta, Finland
computergeekguy wrote:
ok i noticed something else on the scematic. pin 17 on the LCD has a resistor on it and is connected to the VCC, is this needed? also the Vo(pin 3) is wired before or after the resistor and is it series or paralell? thanks.

I didn't use the resistor. I just connected the RESET pin to +5V. You could use that resistor if you want.

Vo pin is connected to the middle pin of a 10k ohm potentiometer / trimmer. The Vout (Vee in your display) is connected to the other end of the trimmer and the last pin of the trimmer is connected to ground. This gives you a contrast adjustment.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 25, 2002 1:59 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2002 1:28
Posts: 39
Location: CA, USA
ohhhhh i get it. it is too bad that i won't be able to start untill next week. i am really busy today and tomorrow. well i will go to my local electronics store and buy all of the necessities. thanks ever so much. i will post another reply if i have any troubles.

_________________
...and the geeks shall inherit the earth (Bob 5:5)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 25, 2002 2:21 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 05, 2002 22:05
Posts: 2063
Location: Lappeenranta, Finland
computergeekguy wrote:
i will post another reply if i have any troubles.
Sure, and if no questions come up let me know when you get it working. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 27, 2002 13:42 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 05, 2002 22:05
Posts: 2063
Location: Lappeenranta, Finland
This is a quick drawing I just made. Because it haven't been tested you should check that it's correct before using it (i may have done a mistake somewhere).

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 28, 2002 7:02 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2002 1:28
Posts: 39
Location: CA, USA
everything looks ok, just make sure that the potentiometer / trimmer has the right pin-outs. i probably will ahve to prolong this project untill this weekend because i have no time right now. well the finalized drawing will help out me as well as many other people. thanks again.
oh and i will post pictures of the final product when i can actually put it together.

_________________
...and the geeks shall inherit the earth (Bob 5:5)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 01, 2002 20:25 
I am very interested in starting a project with exactly the same display (crystalfontz). I was thinking or programming it from a PIC. Do you know of any good resources for programming it?

Also I was wondering if it would be easier to debug things using a scope if it was serially driven. I've seen rumours that this will work: (Stamp Stretcher)
http://www.robotstore.com/catalog/display.asp?pid=27
but it seems a bit overkill. Do you know of any other serial to parallel converters?

All advice/info gratefully received!


Top
  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 55 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC + 2 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group