LCDInfo.com

http://www.lcdinfo.com
It is currently Wed Nov 30, 2022 9:42

All times are UTC + 2 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: lcd optrex mdk 52 v
PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2005 21:12 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2005 20:56
Posts: 7
hi people...
i have this lcd i take it out from a printer (a kyocera) and now i want make a lcd for my pc... but i dont understand nothing of this :?

thanks

Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 22:52 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2005 20:56
Posts: 7
nobody helps me? 8O


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 13, 2005 9:26 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 20:22
Posts: 18
Location: The uk :)
this is a guess, but maybe its hd74480 compatible, if so just try wiring it normal way, whats the worst that can happen ^^
http://lcdsmartie.sourceforge.net/circuits.htm

_________________
and the robot lord said "01001111010011010100011100100000010110010100111101010101001000000010000001010010
010001010100000101000100001000000101010001001000010010010101001100111111 2" - Bender


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 13, 2005 10:04 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2004 17:42
Posts: 467
Location: The Netherlands
Unlikely as it has no LCD controller onboard, so basically useless. Find some cheap one with HD44780 controller, that'll work for sure.

_________________
My Plexeon-Insane LCD!-Or this one!-LCDinfo-LCDStudio


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 13, 2005 20:44 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 20:22
Posts: 18
Location: The uk :)
arnt those 3 chips controllers? :P

_________________
and the robot lord said "01001111010011010100011100100000010110010100111101010101001000000010000001010010
010001010100000101000100001000000101010001001000010010010101001100111111 2" - Bender


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 14, 2005 3:55 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2004 16:01
Posts: 218
Location: NH, USA
Terence wrote:
arnt those 3 chips controllers? :P


Column and row drivers.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 10:07 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 9:58
Posts: 6
Pin
1 DB0
2 DB1
3 DB2
4 DB3
5 DB4
6 DB5
7 DB6
8 DB7
9 CS1 (left controller)
10 CS2 (right controller)
11 R/W
12 EN
13 D/I
14 Reset
15 Vpp (+5V)
16 GND
17 Vee (-5V to 0V)
18 Led A
19 Led K

You can only use the 8bit mode! (look at Datasheet "HD44102CH")


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 10:57 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2005 20:56
Posts: 7
Thanks for your reply. I have still some questions to make you, the pins of the lcd the numbers are equivalent where order of the right for the left or the left for the right? how I bind this? to the printer handle? what programs use?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 19:08 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 9:58
Posts: 6
Look at the first Picture, Pin 1 is on the rightside (where the little 1 is).

I don't know to conect to the Lpt, ich dosen't use it with PC.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 19:16 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2005 20:56
Posts: 7
is impossible to make it work in one PC? i want to display temperatures and info's of my pc... thanks por your reply


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 20:12 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 9:58
Posts: 6
It's not impossible. but you can't use the 4Bit-mode, so you need a interface circuit.
The easiest way is to use somethig like LCDprog and an cheap HD74480.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 23:14 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2005 20:56
Posts: 7
hum... so this LCD cant work with my lpt port because he is one 8 bits... right.. so the easiest way is buy one with the HD74480... so is impossible make it work... :(


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2007 2:08 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2006 17:49
Posts: 25
Why is it impossible to use it at 8 bit through the parallel port?
You can connect only one display of those kind but it is possible.
Concerning the HD44780, I'm currently using a 8x2 HD44780 set at 8 bit through the parallel port.
And more...I'm going to use the parallel port to drive 3 LCD HD44780 at 8 bit !

Regards,

Bob


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2007 2:48 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 9:58
Posts: 6
How do you conect 8 Datalines and the 6 controllines to the LPT?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2007 20:29 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2006 17:49
Posts: 25
The parallel port gives you 12 pins to drive a LCD display: 8 for data lines, 4 for control pins.

DB0-DB7 ---> parallel port data lines (2 to 9 of the parallel port)
CS1,CS2 ---> pin 1,14 of the parallel port
EN ---> pin 16 of the parallel port
R/W ---> to GND (you can only send data but not read from the display)
D/I ---> pin 17 of the parallel port

Reset ---> can be driven individually by a button

Remarks: pin 1,14,17 are active low, pin 16 is active high.

The pin D/I actually I don't know what is its function but if it's a control pin for the display can be driven by the parallel port.

Regards,

Bob


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC + 2 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group